Search ForexCrunch

TD Securities analysts point out that  India sees the fourth phase (out of seven) of Lok Sabha (lower house) elections today in the heartland states of Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh.

Key Quotes

“The highlight of this round is Mumbai. Six seats in Madhya Pradesh and 13 in Rajasthan are voting today. For the BJP, this round is crucial since it lost both states to the Congress in the December assembly elections.”

“This round of voting involves 72 seats spread across nine states. In the first three phases, voting was held for 302 seats; 168 seats will go to polls in the last three phases. The election ends on May 19 and the results will be declared on May 23.”